Sizzling summer days

Being a mom of 4 kids, it’s important to teach them about sun protection. They wear hats and sunscreen and for the most part they keep themselves covered up while out playing. I make sure when they are leaving the house for school, the park or the water park, they are wearing the appropriate sunscreen. I always check to make sure they cover both UVA and UVB rays (I watch the dr. oz show too much I think)

Playing outside for a short amount of time, or going to school I generally have them wear a sunscreen made for sports. I like the Avon sport SPF 30. It’s a spray and they don’t find it at all sticky. They wear Avon SPF 15 chapstick all year round. When they are going to the park to play or to the beach/ water park, they wear the Avon SPF 40 children’s sunscreen. Its water proof and goes on purple so you can see where it has been applied. This one works very well and the kids love having it re-applied because, again, it’s purple.

I generally wear an SPF 40 or higher, yes it’s from Avon( as a sales rep I use and love their products), and I am not usually one to stray, however one day last week when I was taking my kids to the beach, I had forgotten to pack the sunscreen so I stopped at a local store and bought an inexpensive continuous spray on sunscreen with an SPF of 50. Great!! or so I thought. After a couple of hours of water play, my girls decided they were hungry, so as they sat down for lunch and dry off a bit, I decided they needed to be sprayed down again and I figured I should re-apply mine as well.

As it turns out, there is something in this sunscreen I had purchased that caused me to have an allergic reaction and my shoulders were then covered in water blisters. It acted more like I had doused myself in a cooking spray. So for the next couple weeks I am stuck wearing t-shirts!!  I believe it was the Octylacrylamide copolymer that gave me the reaction. It isn’t in any other sun product I use. Regardless of my self-diagnosed allergy, I will not be exposing my skin to the sun for a while.

I should have checked the ingredient list before I purchased it because, just like my mother and my youngest son, I too have an allergy to a certain ingredient that is in this sunscreen. I guess I should just stick to the tried and true. Turning 35 this year I decided to start using the Avon Anew sun because its their age defying line and with 4 very active kids I can use all the help I can get. Also, it reduces the signs of aging while protection your skin from the harmful rays of the sun.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Sizzling summer days (babyyums.wordpress.com) […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

