A Mom who love’s coupons & saving money!

I have been thinking of ways to save money. Before my two boys came into our life I used to use coupons. Not like I do now but I still used them when I could.

Now I have entered a new whole world of couponing. It’s crazy how this all really works. I was in disbelief that this process would ever work. I was at the point where I was thinking of paying someone to find the deals for me and shop. When I came to this point I thought how hard can this really be? I joined a few local groups in my area and received a wealth of knowledge from where to price match, where to shop, where to find deals, coupons and so much more. I won’t go into the full details of everything. Just to let  you know once you start it’s so addicting to see how much money your really saving in the end. You think it’s cheaper to buy “no name” yes I was like that. We will buy “no name” brands for the cheaper price. In the long run guess what the brand name  works out to be the same price or free with coupons and just knowing the “cycle” of a sale and really watching your flyers.

This is my routine every Thursday we get our flyers delivered to our door. Now I’m a kid in a candy store when they arrive. I get them all. I take out all the ones I don’t need like furniture ones .. I only check out the sales on food. Here is a photo of what my Thursday night looks like. I wait till both my boys are in bed before doing this tackle of it all. I have my spread sheet, coupons that I need to use that will expire soon along with local flyers


This was the start to now “my love of couponing” I will post all of the links that have been helpful for me. I’m still no “pro” but I do have the passion to keep doing it. And I’m not sure why I never started sooner. As the old saying goes “better late than never.  I have taken a few photos of things I got for a deal. I stay it’s my steal deal.

So here are a few of my steel deals. Below the photo I will mark what the true cost would be vs sale cost then the cost with coupon and the money I spent out-of-pocket. I only have 2 photos to share as I’ve been doing this for a month and a half.

Steal Deal #1

Before sale price:

~2 pkg of Easy Ups reg: $14.47 x 2 =  $28.94
~2 pkgs of Greek yogurt reg: $2.47 x 2 = $4.94
~2 dove body wash reg: $6.30 x 2 =$12. 60
~4 crest tooth paste reg: $3.99 x 4 = $15.96
~1 irish spring reg: $2.99
total: $65.43

Sale price with coupons:

~2 pkg of Easy Ups sale: $9.99 x2 = $19.98 – $4.00 coupon = $15.98
~2 pkg of Greek Yogurt: $1.47 x 2 =  $2.49
~ 2 dove body wash sale: $3.99 x 2 –  $7.98 – $2.50 = $5.48
~4 crest tooth paste $2.00 x 4 = $8.00
~1 irish spring $1.99 – $1.00 coupon = .99
total: $32.94
saved: $32.49

My other photo has a lot more but I will just give you retail: vs sale/coupon price!

Before sale retail cost would be $117.00
With sale and coupons spent: $64.00
total saved: $52.00

Here are some great sites if you want to learn more about Saving & using coupons. If you have any questions you can also ask me and I will provide you with info that I think would help you.

Enjoy the links below:

Mrs. January has lots of info ~ http://www.mrsjanuary.com
Ottawa Coupon Swap group  with loads of info & help for beginners ~ https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/ottawacouponswap/
Frugal Me Frugal You a great local blog post ~ http://frugalmefrugalyou.blogspot.ca/
Flyer On Fire want to know the deals in this weeks flyers check out ~  http://flyeronfire.com/

Any questions feel free to e-mail info@babyyums.com

Happy Saving!!

If there are any great websites that you use please leave a comment below and share with use your  fave website for deals!

7 Comments »

  1. Gina said

    This is awesome! I almost never buy anything that’s either not on sale or that I don’t have a coupon for. I have “good” prices for most of our family’s staple foods burned into my brain and I refuse to ever spend more then that magic number… e.g. $2 for a loaf of bread, less than $1 for cucumber, tomatoes, less than $2 for broccoli and cauliflower, etc. We’re moving to Manhattan this summer and I’ll have my work cut out for me in one of the most expensive cities in the world!

    • babyyums said

      Gina,

      I’m still very new with all of this (to this extent) but ❤ it and will keep it as a hobbie! I'm excited to donate to the foodbank this year with goods that are in my stock pile that don't get used or I have to much of (win win situation) giving back is a great feeling. Especially when I get the product for free 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this informative article, really appriciate it. I have bookmarked and will comeback soon ! Please write more information for us! Have a nice day and see you soon!

    • babyyums said

      Thank-You Jenny my pleasure! I will try and write a few more good articales. One that is coming up soon talks about Food @ farmers markets 🙂 ….

  3. Katie Squires said

    I’ve always wanted HELP with this …thank-you…bookmarking!

  4. Rosa Yorke said

    Awesome tips!! Thanks so much for sharing!

  5. Love couponing

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

