A day in the life of a stay at home mom of 4.

After having been told that I am lazy because i am a stay at home mom yesterday, I decided it was about time I that actually write out exactly what it is that a stay at home mom of 4 does on a daily basis. This is just one day out of my week.

I generally wake up at 6am, make myself a cup of coffee (in my keurig because it only takes about 30 seconds for a cup of liquid gold). while having my coffee, i am making lunches for my 3 school age children, which need to be packed by me in their school bags along with their agenda’s and homework (which has been checked) and neatly placed in the hallway.

Make myself another coffee and drink it quickly while I do the dishes and wipe up counters and make a grocery list, and then have my shower and get dressed before my kids get up at 7am.

while the kids are all getting dressed I pick up all the dirty laundry and bring it to the laundry room where i seperate it and start my usual 3 loads of laundry a day. I clean the litter box and get the garbage all bagged and put it in the bin out back.

By 8am the kids are dressed and fed and are brushing their hair and teeth. Once again I get to finish up the dishes and sweep and steam the hardwood floors and vacuum the area rugs. the kids are then walked to school (by me) and then it’s home to check on the laundry, make beds and then go grocery shopping.

by noon, I have my youngest daughter fed, groceries put away and then sit down to fold a gigantic pile of laundry into separate piles for each member of my family, as well as the linens and kitchen towels and are put in whatever room they belong in.Then I have the pleasure of dusting, cleaning up smudgy windows and dinner prep if its needed before going to pick up the kids at school.

Homework and unpacking lunch boxes is always first to be done when my kids come home from school and then its dinner time by 4:30. On Wednesday’s after dinner, my kids put on their karate uniforms and its off to their 45 minute class, then home for showers and bedtime at 8pm.

While the boys, being 10 and 12 are aloud to stay up till 9pm reading my 7 year old daughter usually gets a quick bedtime story and falls asleep pretty quick. My 3 year old generally falls asleep in the car on the way home so it right up to bed for her.

By now I am beat so it’s time to sit down with a nice glass of wine (not every night) and unwind while watching my shows on tv.

So in the event that you are still convinced that a stay at home mom has an easy life or just sits at home watching soaps and eating bonbons, I challenge you to walk a day in my shoes.

2 Comments »

  1. Valerie said

    Thought you might like this: http://blogs.babble.com/kid-scoop/2012/03/06/what-stay-at-home-moms-want-you-to-know/?pid=4275#slideshow
    I love babble it always has some good reads. 🙂

  2. wiscomom said

    Amen!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

