Im a nosey mom and i’m ok with that!!!

When we bought our 2 boys iPod touch’s for christmas, we weren’t expecting them to be able to contact the outside world. We thought that they would be able to download games and video’s but had no idea that they could text message their friends or us for that matter.

http://wiredsafety.org (original source)

Knowing that my children were texting each other, us and there friends, I decided to check up on what they were doing and found that my 10-year-old son was using inappropriate language including acronyms such as wtf and omfg. When I asked him what made him think that it was ok to use that kind of language, the only answer he could come up with was “how long am I losing my iPod for?”

Not only did he lose the iPod for 3 weeks but, I also took text plus off his iPod and we had a discussion about being responsible and that he would have to be more mature about texting….that is if i ever let him get text plus again. Did i forget to mention that my husband and i are the only  2 that know the password to our itunes acount? so the boys have to ask us every time they want a new app.

http://www.indiatalkies.com (original source)

Having boys that are very close to becoming teenagers, I know that at some point i will have to give up the reins, and let them navigate this world without me being just a few feet behind them. I know that at some point I will have to trust that all the discussions we have had will allow them to make informed and smart decisions when they do hang out with their friends out of my eye sight.

I feel it is my responsibility to know where my children are at all times and that I have to know who they are with and what they are at all times. This easter, we have decided it is definitely time to get our 12-year-old a cell phone. For emergencies. Pay as you go and he will be aloud a certain amount each month. if he goes over, he will have to pay for his card himself. Not only will I feel better knowing that while he is out with his friends he can call and let me know where he is, but he will have more freedom and be learning to be responsible.

Leave a Reply

