February Love with Food

Love with food! Need I say more its February after all.

I would like to share with you some great news. February has marked 1 year for Baby Yums . It has been a great year and I’m looking forward to 2012 as a more rewarding year. Now that I have all the nuts & bolts and foundation to where I am now vs where I was one year ago it’s a big accomplishment. I would like to Thank-You my customers, fans, family and friends who believe in Baby Yums and most of all believe in me.

Where my love for food comes into play! Before my two beautiful boys came into my life I always enjoyed being in the kitchen. I’d rush home from work thinking what can I make tonight for dinner. Fridays where the best because I knew I could make something extra fancy and fun and really sit down relax and enjoy the meal that I was about to eat. Lets fast forward a few years from then two children after my love for food is still the same. My love for food has changed to making baby food for babies and toddlers. I don’t make the fancy meals that I made before my children came into my life as much as I did before. The cook in the house now is my husband when it comes to making dinner. I still do my share of dinner time and yes the meals are still great and homemade. For some reason my passion and love has gone into making Baby Yums.

I would like to share a few of my favorite Baby Yums recipes with you and a few of  my own favorite adult dishes. At the bottom of this blog post there is a comment box. I would love for you to share any of your own recipes that you love or dishes you’d love to try. I will post three dishes one that is great for babies, toddlers, and one that is great for adults. Show us your love for food!

Here are my top must try recipe for kids (I will post 3) One for babies 6+months, one for toddlers & one adults

The first recipe posted is for beginner eaters “Asparagus & Applesauce”

You will need:
Fresh asparagus
1/2 homemade applesauce *recipe below EASY*)

Directions:
1. cut off woody bottoms of the stocks and keep the tender portions
2. steam asparagus for about 7 minutes after time is up rinse under cold water to stop cooking
3. puree the asparagus in food processor or blender until the texture you would like for your child(ren)
4. add a little applesauce to smooth and sweeten the puree.
5. you can store in fridge for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months

*applesauce recipe*

You will need:
3 gala apples (just my choice) but you can use what you’d like this is a non  bitter apple and good to cook with
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

directions:
1. wash & cut up apples you can leave the skin on if you’d like (your choice)
2. steam apples when soft remove from heat
3. put apples into blender and if you’d like add your 1 tsp of cinnamon
4. puree
5. you can store in fridge for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months

The second recipe is for toddlers “Orzo & Vegetables”

You will need:
1 cup orzo pasta
2 tbsp olive oil
1 cup fresh-cut up veggies (peas, carrots, green beans, corn)
2 tbsp pesto
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
fresh lemon juice as needed

directions:
1. cook orzo according to package
2. warm oil add vegetables and cook medium heat, stirring often , until heated though, about 5 min reduce the heat to low
3. add cooked pasta to vegetables  add pesto, and cheese
4. stir over low heat until the cheese is melted drizzle with lemon juice to taste
5. can be stored in fridge for up to 5 days

This recipe is for you to enjoy a nice adult dinner for two sun-dried tomato Chicken Pasta

You will need:

1 pkg fettuccine
1 cup cut up sun-dried tomatoes
1/2 cup pine nuts
1 jar alfredo sauce
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 cup swiss cheese
2 1/2 cups of snow peas
2 chicken brest cut up onto bite size
flavoured olive oil for dipping bread (optional)
sourdough bread

directions:
1. toast pine nuts (set aside)
2. cut up sun-dried tomatoes (set aside)
3. steam snow peas (set aside)
4. grade both cheese (set aside)
5. cook up chicken once chicken is cooked add snow peas, pine nuts, alfredo sauce
6. cook pasta once pasta is cooked add to chicken then add sun-dried tomatoes, stir and toss in cheese
7. serve and enjoy with a nice piece of sourdough bread and a glass of vino!
ENJOY!

Here are my photos of the finished look to of the meal

Feel free to post your favorite “Love for Food” recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

