A Five Letter Word ….SLEEP

If you are or have ever been a mom to a newborn or have ever been then this word could have a lot of meaning. Or some of you may be thinking “Sleep, what’s that?”. I have good news and bad news. I’ll hit you with the bad news first and say that I am not about to solve all your baby and child sleep issues as I am by no means an expert. The good news is that you are not alone.

Every few months I get a call from my husband at some random time of the day asking “What was the name of that book again? The one with the swaddling? You know the magic trick?”. Yes, in our house the acclaimed technique in this book became known as “the magic trick”. Oh if only I had known about this after my child was born.

I will admit that during my first pregnancy I did not read one book. I went to pre-natal class taught by nurses through The City of Ottawa and while I am a planner in all aspects of my life did not feel the need to “plan” for parenting… must have been the hormones. Despite my lack of reading, our daughter was born and we managed not to kill her. During the visit from the nurse at our house she commented on how relaxed I was actually. However, my daughter did not sleep through the night until she was a year and half. There were moments where I thought I would not survive and family and friends expressed their concern.

So the second time around I decided to read 2 books. The first was “The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems” by Tracy Hogg and Melinda Blau. This book gave me loads of tips and enlightened me to some of the “mistakes” I had done the first time around. The biggest piece that I adopted from this books was the E.A.S.Y technique which I followed the minute we arrived home with Owen (4 hours after his birth). This meant that he would Eat, do an Activity, go to Sleep (without the need of being breastfeed first) then I got me (You) time. It made life a whole lot easier.

The second book I read was “The Happiest Baby On The Block” by Dr. Harvey Karp and this became known as “the magic trick”. This book details the 5 S’s: swaddling, side, shhh, swinging and sucking. Our son never cried and could sleep anywhere. It was wonderful! I also discovered the miracle of swaddling blankets (the ones that zip up). This book along with a swaddle pod are my baby gift for anyone expecting.

I know that there are thousands of books out there that many parents find amazing but these were the two that made my second maternity leave bliss and ultimately attributed to Owen being the incredible, happy, easy going kid he is today.

What was the book you read that had an impact for you as a parent?

Leave a Reply

