Everything Green for March

Green with envy it’s March! Or is it the fact that I have Irish roots? Either way I love this month. I will share with you my own personal favorite green vegetables and what you can do with them be it crafts, or recipes. I will also talk about some great green fruits and what crafts, and recipes I’d like to share with you. Starting this year because my boys are 2 & 3 years old I have a fun ritual that I found on pinterest. I will start this tradition this year, I’m excited for their reactions!

A bowl of lucky charm cereal (only on this day) I’m not a personal fan of sugar cereal (however once in a while is A.OK with me) & a glass of milk with some green food colouring is absolutely the best way to wake up on St. Patrick’s Day! I will follow-up after March 17th with my own photos with my boys enjoying this once a year treat! If you end up doing this with your little one(s) please feel free to share your personal photos! You can always post them on Baby Yums fan page If you have any traditions you’re doing with your little ones to celebrate this day please comment below and let us know what you do!

Looking for some fun crafts for this month to do with the Kids? I have a two and three yo and both very active boys. There is nothing more fun then a messy craft! I’m looking forward to spring so we can get out and enjoy the great outdoors and do more fun crafts!! Here are a few of our personal favorites! I will post “original” post to crafts!

Wee little shamrock men

hand print leprechaun’s

St. Patrick’s Day free printable

Here are some great green veggies & fruit plates that are fun to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day along with a few fun recipes for older kids! Original link posted!

Nothing says a Pot of Gold like Jello! A great treat for any age!

Here is a good one for little eaters (you can omit salt & use unsalted butter)
Green Pea Puree
Ingredients

  • 3 10-oz. packages frozen peas
  • 2 bunches watercress
  • 1 cup canned chicken broth
    3 tbsp. butter
  • Salt
    Instructions

    1. In a saucepan, cook the peas and watercress in the stock. Bring to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes. Remove the vegetables from the pan with a slotted spoon and put into a food processor with the butter, leaving the stock in the pan. Add stock until the puree is smooth and thick, with the consistency of creamy mashed potatoes. Makes 8 to 10 servings

Heres a really cute one for pre-school children Leprechaun lunch
here is a great “green veggie dish! you can also turn this into a shamrock stamping craft. ENJOY!!! or you can also be creative and make a rainbow out of a bunch of fruit a great healthy snack!

Please share with use your go to creative breakfast, snacks, lunch & dinners. I will be posting a dinner recipe that is in our newsletter. If you’d like to sign up for Baby Yums newsletter click here. It’s only published once a month! Great little read!

Looking forward to seeing all of your comments.

Leave a comment